News Jun 08, 2012

Reykjavik Midsummer Music: Opening Concert

Reykjavik Midsummer Music is about juxtaposing striking contrasts and discovering unexpected similarities. That’s the reason for the meeting of Ravel and Brahms in the opening concert; a Frenchman and a German, different geniuses who both saw shadows in the light and lights in the shadows.

This concert features Ravel’s charmingly jazzy violin sonata along with his strikingly beautiful piano trio, as well as Brahms’ colorful but somewhat autumnal clarinet trio – a gentle reminder to seize the day – or, in this case, the bright summer’s night by the harbor.

Here are some further details on the concerts, held at Harpa, Reykjavik Concert Hall. For more information, click here.
June 17 – Ravel and Brahms
June 18 – A Breath on a Sleeping String
June 18 – Fin du temps
June 19 – Grand Finale

Artists: Sigrún Eðvaldsdóttir (violin; concert master of the Icelandic Symphony Orchestra), Víkingur Heiðar Ólafsson (piano), Ari Þór Vilhjálmsson (violin), Sigurgeir Agnarsson (cello), Ástríður Alda Sigurðardóttir (piano), Einar Jóhannesson (clarinet), Bryndís Halla Gylfadóttir (cello).