Music & Art Jun 09, 2015

Icelandic Band Of Monsters & Men Debuts New Ablum

“Beneath the Skin,” featuring recently released “Crystals,” is the band’s second studio album.

Of Monsters and Men debuted their new single, “Crystals,” on March 16 and today released their brand new album, “Beneath the Skin.” The album is co-produced by Rich Costey, who is known for his work with Muse and Foster the People. Of Monsters and Men told Billboard that this album is more personal than their 2012 debut with “My Head Is An Animal.” Ragnar “Raggi” Þórhallsson, who shares lead vocal and guitar duties with Nanna Bryndís Hilmarsdóttir, said: “For the first album, being from Iceland, you could feel in the lyrics that we wanted to go out and explore. Because we’ve toured for two years, I think you can hear in this album that we’re going more inwards. We’re writing more about us instead of what’s out there. It’s much more personal.”

Watch band member Brynjar discuss “Beneath The Skin” with Nordic Playlist in the video below. 

To celebrate the debut of their second studio album, the band played a few songs off their new album on Good Morning America. Click here to order “Beneath The Skin” on iTunes!

“Beneath the Skin” includes 11 songs, plus a 15-song deluxe version that features two remixes:

Beneath the Skin Tracklist:
– Crystals
– Human
– Hunger
– Wolves Without Teeth
– Empire
– Slow Life
– Organs
– Black Water
– Thousand Eyes
– I Of The Storm
– We Sink

– Backyard
– Winter
– Black Water (Chris Taylor of Grizzly Bear Remix)
– I Of The Storm (Alex Somers Remix)

Watch the video for the first single off the album, “Crystals,” which features lead vocals from Nanna Bryndís Hilmarsodóttir.

In addition to the release of their new album, the band is currently touring and will make a few stops in North America. Tour dates and details can be found here.